The Irresistible Caffè Serafini

by Alyssa Thermos

During my time abroad, I was lucky enough to live in an apartment in a residential area of Florence near Piazza Beccaria. This elegant area is bustling with Florentines, not tourists, and just across the street from my apartment on Via Gioberti–a great street for shopping–I discovered Caffe’ Serafini. I’ve been hooked ever since. At first glance, Serafini seems like a typical Italian pasticeria, where a multitude of sweet pastries are baked fresh each morning, but upon closer inspection, Serafini is really one-of-a-kind. The pastries are the most delicious I’ve tried in Florence, and the caffe’ is known for its specialty coffee, the fornacino (pictured below). This creamy chocolate and coffee delight literally melts in your mouth.

But don’t stop at breakfast! Serafini offers a variety of lunch items, too. From sandwiches and pasta dishes to meats and vegetables, this self-service lunch is the healthiest and most delicious  you’ll ever eat. It’s true that at first the same few regular employees found my broken Italian a bit frustrating, but after I’d stopped in a few times, they started treating me as if I was part of the family. That kind of hospitality is comforting when you’re far from home and I will certainly miss the staff at Serafini.

Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 2.12.51 PM

Plus, if you’re looking for a casual and authentic aperitivo, Serafini charges modestly for a drink and provides lots of wonderful hors d’oeuvres.

I may not have found Caffe Serafini if it hadn’t been for the location of my apartment, which is a bit off the beaten path yet still a short walk to Santa Croce where I attend classes. I highly recommend getting out of the city center now and then to experience a real day-in-the-life of a Florentine, and there is no better place to do that than at Caffe’ Serafini!

downloadThis is what Italian fast-food looks like! (lunch at Caffe’ Serafini)

CAFFE’ SERAFINI
VIA GIOBERTI 168r
50121 FIRENZE
0552476214

Leave a Reply

